2013 Great Iowa Nurses - Genesis Health System

Published on May 09, 2013

Congratulations to our Great Iowa Nurses

Nine nurses from Genesis are among the 100 Great Iowa Nurses for 2013. The award recognizes nurses who have made a meaningful and lasting contribution to humanity and their profession and act as mentors to others.

The Iowa Nurses Association, Iowa Nurses Foundation and the University of Iowa College of Nursing collaborate each year to create this list, which celebrates nursing.

Genesis has had a total of 67 nurses named Great Iowa Nurses since the awards began in 2005. This year’s Great Iowa Nurses were honored, May 5 in Des Moines.

“The quality of our nursing staff and the depth of quality among our nurses has consistently been recognized on both a statewide and national basis,” said Jackie Anhalt, MS, MSN, RN-BC, Vice President of Patient Services and Chief Nurse Executive, Genesis Health System. “We are proud we work with truly great nurses and because of their care, our patients benefit.’’

In 2005, Genesis Medical Center, Davenport was the first regional hospital to earn Magnet designation, which recognizes the highest standards of nursing care in the U.S. Genesis received Magnet re-accreditation in 2010, an achievement that only 3 percent of hospitals in the U.S. have earned.

Genesis Medical Center, DeWitt recently received Pathway to Excellence® designation by the American Nurses Credentialing Center. This honor is similar to Magnet designation, but is for critical access hospitals.

The Genesis Nurses Selected for the 2013:


•    Michael Curry, BSN, RN, Operating Room
•    Charlette Evans, MSN, RN, Nursing Administration
•    Angela Guhin, RN, Operating Room
•    Annette Holst, MSN, RN, Learning & Development
•    Julie Leonard, BSN, Emergency Department
•    Patti Said, BSN, RN, Quality
•    Brenda Youngs, BS, RN, Cardiac Rehabilitation

•    Kim Bush, BSN, RN, Emergency Room
•    Chelsey Hawthorne, BSN, RN, Westwing Place

Contact Us

For more information about our media services, please contact:

Craig Cooper
Media Coordinator