GMC-Silvis No. 1 In Quality Of Care - Genesis Health System

Published on July 21, 2015

Genesis Medical Center, Silvis Top-Ranked For Outstanding Patient Safety

Genesis Medical Center, Silvis has earned the No. 1 ranking of 600 hospitals in the U.S. based on outstanding patient safety and outcomes.

Genesis Medical Center, Silvis earned the top ranking from Midas+ by being at the 99th percentile for hospitals in low readmission rates, core measures, low mortality and average length of stay.

The Silvis hospital also earned a Platinum Quality Award from Midas+ for the fourth time in five years. GMC, Silvis earned the recognition in the category of hospitals with fewer than 100 patients each day.

GMC, Silvis was presented the recognitions recently at the Midas+ annual symposium in Tucson.

Midas+ Solutions recognizes excellence in clinical healthcare. The Platinum Quality Award reflects achievement in quality outcomes, care efficiency, and consistent delivery of evidence-based best practices in healthcare delivery.

“To be the top-ranked of 600 hospitals across the country for patient safety and outstanding outcomes is a testament to the quality of care provided on a daily basis by physicians, nurses and other clinical staff at the hospital,’’ said Kevin Youmans, president of Genesis Medical Center, Silvis. “And, Genesis Medical Center, Silvis has consistently maintained a high standard of quality by earning a Platinum Quality Award for the fourth time in five years.

"What it means for patients is that they can expect an outstanding level of care delivered consistently at Genesis Medical Center, Silvis.’’

Youmans explained that a hospital with fewer than 100 patients per day must be extremely consistent in its quality of care to win the Platinum Quality Award because there is more variation when just one patient doesn’t receive the quality of care expected.

Genesis Medical Center, Silvis had a mean percentage score of 81 percent, the highest of the 27 hospitals of all sizes receiving Platinum Quality Awards.

Among the measurements used to determine award winners are acute care readmissions, myocardial infarction care, heart failure care and pneumonia care. Mortality rates and average lengths of stay are also factors.

Contact Us

For more information about our media services, please contact:

Craig Cooper
Media Coordinator